

Paper for: The LEP Board

Title: Agenda Item 3 – Directors' Re-Appointments

Date: 19th October, 2022 (Re-issued due to cancellation of 14th September)

Strategic Purpose: Corporate Governance

Resource Implications: None

Board: To approve re-appointments of directors' seeking a second term of office.

Summary

Board directors are appointed on terms of three years and may offer themselves for re-appointment for a second term (and possibly a third term) subject to board approval. Except for ex-officio roles, which apply to the leaders of the Local Authorities (or their nominated deputies) and the vice chancellor of the University of Chester, the maximum term any director may hold is 9 years (6 in Marketing Cheshire).

Three directors reached the end of their first term of office on 1st September 2022, though remain for the time being as directors on the Companies House records. They are Peter Broxton, Nicola Dunbar and Nichola Newton. Peter Broxton and Nichola Newton are standing for re-appointment. Nicola Dunbar has reluctantly said she needs to step down and we are extremely grateful for the support she has given the LEP over the past three years.

Appendix 1 shows a full list of Board Directors and their respective terms of office.

The LEP board will comprise 15 directors (maximum allowed is 20), including the two for re-election, and meets the local assurance framework requirement for more than half the board to be private sector (12:3) and meets the DLUHC/ BEIS ambition for half the members to be female (8:7).

The next round of re-appointments will be triggered by three directors reaching the end of their current term of office on 31st March 2023 and it is proposed that any future recruitment campaign is postponed until the LEP review has concluded the role, size and shape of the LEP and Marketing Cheshire.

Recommendation

The board is asked to approve the re-appointments.



Appendix 1 – LEP Directors Terms of Office

Title	First Name	Surname	Term ▼	Termination Date
Cllr	Russ	Bowden	1st Term	30/06/2022
	Trevor	Brocklebank	1st Term	31/03/2023
Cllr	Craig	Browne	1st Term	30/06/2022
	Peter	Broxton	1st Term	01/09/2022
Dr	Alice	Choi	1st Term	31/03/2024
	Rupert	Collis	1st Term	30/03/2024
	John	Downes	2nd Term	31/03/2023
	Nicola	Dunbar	1st Term	01/09/2022
Cllr	Louise	Gittins	1st Term	31/03/2022
	Clare	Hayward	3rd Term	04/06/2024
	Chris	Hindley	2nd Term	31/03/2023
	Loren	Jones	1st Term	31/03/2024
	Annette	McDonald	1st Term	31/03/2024
	Kath	Mackay	1st Term	31/03/2024
	Nichola	Newton	1st Term	01/09/2022
Prof	Eunice	Simmons	1st Term	06/04/2023